Jar Selection?? What are they good for?

Discussion in 'Plugin Suggestions' started by Artiski, Jan 24, 2015.

1. Artiski

Artiski New Member

Total newb here, I am setting my server up for a few family members (adults and kids) and friends. There are so many options under the JAR selection! I know nothing and can't find anywhere this is broken down into understandable info.. like what is each one good for.

I can't even pick the perfect seed yet! This is hopeless! So what are the following good for? (I left off the ones that aren't updated to 1.8).

BungeeCord
    CanaryMod
    CraftBukkit (1.8 Ro:1 BuildTools: 24) <--- all those numbers mean nothing to me.
    Project Rainbow (MC 1.8 Build:50)
    Special: custom.jar
    Special: custommgc.jar
    Spigot (1.8 11/28/14)
    Spigot (1.8 RO:3 BuildTools: 24)
    Vanilla Minecraft 1.8.1 <---- I'm assuming that's just minecraft with nothing fancy

I would love to be able to have a survival server with mobs spawning less often than they do in the vanilla minecraft.. I mean come on Mojang, you can't focus on anything with all the mobs coming at you constantly even on easy mode! I'd like a healthy balance. :D

Any suggestions? Can somebody break these down for me, help me understand! Thanks!

2. Max

Max BisectHosting Staff

BungeeCord - http://www.spigotmc.org/wiki/bungeecord/
    CanaryMod - http://canarymod.net/
    CraftBukkit (1.8 Ro:1 BuildTools: 24) - It's CraftBukkit for Minecraft 1.8.x with Build Tools #24 update)
    Project Rainbow (MC 1.8 Build:50) - http://www.project-rainbow.org/
    Special: custom.jar - For running custom .jar files
    Special: custommgc.jar - For running custom .jar files with increased perm gen memory.
    Spigot (1.8 11/28/14) - Spigot 1.8 (www.spigotmc.org/wiki/about-spigot/)
    Spigot (1.8 RO:3 BuildTools: 24) - Spigot for Minecraft 1.8.x with Build Tools #24 update)